Stokes & Sciver named ICC Cricketers of the Year

Ben Stokes leads the England team off the field after beating Pakistan
England won nine out of their 10 Tests under Ben Stokes’ captaincy in 2022

England Test captain Ben Stokes and England all-rounder Nat Sciver have won ICC Cricketer of the Year awards.

All-rounder Stokes, 31, has been named Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year while Sciver, 30, won the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

Sciver is also named Women’s One-Day International (ODI) cricketer of the year.

The ICC said Stokes “defined the year of Test cricket more than any other”.

He took over the Test captaincy from Joe Root in April 2022 and has won nine of his 10 Tests in charge.

Before his appointment, England had won just one Test in 17 matches.

Alongside new coach Brendon McCullum, Stokes transformed England’s Test fortunes with an attacking approach and mindset.

It is the second time Stokes has claimed the award – previously winning in 2019 – and he was also named in the ICC’s Test Team of the Year for 2022.

Stokes scored 870 runs at an average of 36.25 and took 26 wickets at an average of 31.19 during the year but it is his leadership that had the biggest influence on England’s performances.

With his positive style and commitment to entertaining, Stokes led England to series wins over New Zealand and South Africa at home, victory over India in a one-off postponed Test before finishing the year with a phenomenal 3-0 clean sweep in Pakistan – the first visiting side to ever win three Tests in the country.

Sciver named women’s overall and ODI player of the year

Nat Sciver celebrating her century v Australia in the World Cup final
Sciver scored 148 not out as England attempted to chase 356 to win the World Cup v Australia in March

Sciver’s two awards come after she scored 1346 runs and took 22 wickets from her 33 international matches in 2022.

She scored five half-centuries and two centuries, including her maiden Test hundred against South Africa in June.

She also scored a stunning unbeaten 148 in the World Cup final defeat by Australia in March as England fell short of their target of 356.

Only South Africa’s Laura Wolvaardt scored more ODI runs than Sciver’s 833 in 2022.

Sciver took a break from the game after captaining England during the Commonwealth Games, where they finished fourth, to protect her mental health.

But she returned to the side in England’s clean sweep over West Indies in December and has returned to her role as vice-captain for the upcoming T20 World Cup.

Full list of ICC winners

Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year: Ben Stokes, England

Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Babar Azam, Pakistan

Men’s T20 Cricketer of the Year: Suryakumar Yadav, India

Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Marco Jansen, South Africa

Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Nat Sciver, England

Women’s T20 Cricketer of the Year: Tahlia McGrath, Australia

Women’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Renuka Singh, India

Source link